Meet the players!


Press release


The 10th edition of Norway Chess will take place between May 31st to June 10th in Stavanger.

Together with our primary partner, NES Fircroft, we proudly present the following players:

World Chess Champion, Magnus Carlsen (Norway)
Richard Rapport (Hungary)
Wesley So (USA)
Shakhriyar Mamedyravov (Azerbaijan)
Anish Giri (The Netherlands)
Teymur Rajabov (Azerbaijan)
Viswanathan Anand (India)
Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France)
Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria)
Wang Hao (China)

“We are thrilled to welcome top chess players back to Stavanger to what will be an exciting tournament at Finansparken. This year we are celebrating our 10th tournament anniversary and we are looking forward to many side events and a great celebration of the game of chess.” – Kjell Madland, founder of Norway Chess